Come July 1, 2009 this will become law in Virginia. U can’t enter, text or read text message (and emailing) while u r driving. It's the law.
HB 1876 (House Bill) says that Virginia now prohibits operation of a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth while using any handheld personal communication device to manually enter multiple letters or text or to read a text message. The only exemption is when using global positioning systems (GPS), reading caller identification information, and reporting an emergency with a wireless telecommunications device.
Since there’s no penalty - There's (actually) penalty tucked in the law (via DMV Now), wonder what would happen if someone get caught texting while driving? The penalty is $20 first offense, with $50 for second.